Photo by Suzanne Neubauer

Keck School of Medicine of USC
LAC+USC Medical Center

Department of
Emergency Medicine

Year End Celebration

Sunday, June 26, 2022


Reception and Cocktails
6:00 pm

7:00 pm

Welcome and Introduction
Dr. Carl Chudnofsky, Chairman of Emergency Medicine
Dr. Ramin Tabatabai, Residency Program Director

Awards Ceremony
Masters of Ceremonies — Caroline Brandon, MD
Fellow Diploma Ceremony — Presented by Fellowship Directors 
Outstanding Teacher Performance — Presented by Dr. Tabatabai
Resident Research Award — Presented by Dr. Sanjay Arora
Outstanding Resident Teacher Award — Presented by the Class of 2024
Resident Diploma Presentation

A Look Back – Video Presented by the Class of 2022

The Class of 2022

Residency Graduates

Charity Amber Apelo, MD
Huntington Hospital &
Kaiser Permanente, SCPMG
Pasadena, CA

Sarah Cain, MD
Glendale Memorial Hospital
Glendale, CA

Erik Christensen, MD
Ultrasound Fellowship
Maine Medical Center
Portland, ME

Collin Cousins, MD
ECC Abbott Northwestern Hospital
Minneapolis, MN

Chris Feng, MD
Toxicology Fellowship
Boston Children’s Hospital /
Harvard Medical School
Boston, MA

McKenzie Halle, MD
Providence St. Joseph
Burbank, CA

Oswaldo Hasbun Avalos, MD
San Antonio, TX

Megan Johnson, MD
Providence St. Joseph
Burbank, CA

Daniel Klein, MD
Ultrasound Fellowship
LAC+USC Medical Center
Los Angeles, CA

Simone Miller, MD
Medical Education Fellowship
University of New Mexico Hospital
Albuquerque, NM

Michelle O’Connor, MD
Huntington Hospital &
Kaiser Permanente, Downey
Pasadena, CA & Downey, CA

Ricardo Padilla, MD
EMS Fellowship
Arrowhead Regional Medical Center 
Colton, CA  

Katherine Ross, MD
Naval Medical Center 
San Diego, CA  

Natasha Sanchez Cristal, MD
Providence Little Company of Mary Medical Center 
Torrance, CA  

Hank Song, MD
Wilderness Medicine Fellowship 
University of Utah 
Salt Lake City, UT  

Katherine Stiene, MD
Cottage Hospital 
Santa Barbara, CA  

Erik Swanson, MD
Marian Regional Medical Center 
Santa Maria, CA  

Lily Vartanyan, MD
Glendale Memorial Hospital &
Kaiser Permanente, West LA
Glendale, CA & Los Angeles, CA  

Fellowship Graduates

Emergency Medical Services
Andrew Pachon, MD

Emergency Medicine Ultrasound
Daniel Choi, MD
Mia Kanak, MD
Joshua Lee, MD
Mark Zhang, MD

Special Thank You

To the Department of Emergency Medicine for their generous sponsorship of this evening. Thank you to the residency office and faculty for your commitment to our education. We are forever changed by your investment. And finally, thank you to our families for your love, support and patience through the years.

We made it!