Photo by Suzanne Neubauer

Keck School of Medicine of USC
LA General Medical Center

Department of
Emergency Medicine

Year End Celebration

Sunday, June 25, 2023


Reception and Cocktails
6:00 pm

Dinner and Presentations
7:00 pm

Welcome and Introduction
Dr. Carl Chudnofsky, Chairman of Emergency Medicine
Dr. Ramin Tabatabai, Residency Program Director

Awards Ceremony
Masters of Ceremonies — Dr. Jessica Osterman, MD
Retiring Faculty Farewell
Fellow Diploma Ceremony — Presented by Fellowship Directors 
Faculty Awards — Presented by Chief Residents
Outstanding Resident Teacher Award — Presented by the Class of 2025
Resident Awards — Presented by Emergency Medicine Faculty
Words from the Class of 2023 — Presented by Dr. Barrett
Tribute to the Class of 2023 — Presented by Dr. Mazzulo
Resident Diploma Presentation — Residency Office

The Class of 2023

Residency Graduates

Beza Abebe, MD, MPH
Kaiser Permanente, SCPMG
Los Angeles, CA

Chance Anderson, MD, MS
Providence St. Joseph
Burbank, CA

Jack Barrett, MD
Palliative Care Fellowship, New York Presbyterian Hospital
New York, NY

Cara Buchanan, MD
Health Policy and Social Emergency
Medicine Fellowship, Harvard University, Brigham and Women’s Hospital
Masters in Health Policy, Harvard Kennedy School
Boston/Cambridge, MA

David Canter, MD
Providence St. Joseph
Burbank, CA

Catharina Giudice, MD
Climate and Human Health Fellowship,
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
Masters Harvard T.H. Chen School of Public Health
Boston/Cambridge, MA

Katie Hawk, MD
Honor Health: John C Lincoln, Deer
Valley, Sonoran
Phoenix, AZ

Andrew Kerrigan, MD, MPH
Henry Mayo-Newhall Memorial Hospital
Valencia, CA
USC Arcadia Hospital
Arcadia, CA

Lucy Liu, MD
Torrance Memorial Medical Center
Torrance, CA

Chase Luther, MD
Kern Medical Center
Bakersfield, CA

Taylor Lynch, MD
CarePoint Physicians
Swedish Medical Center
Denver, CO

Michael Messina, DO
Medical Education Fellowship, University of California-Los Angeles
Los Angeles, CA

O. Agatha Offorjebe, MD
Brown Global Emergency Medicine Fellowship
Brown University Masters of Public Health
Providence, RI

Daria Osipchuk, MD
Providence St. Joseph
Burbank, CA
Kaiser West Los Angeles Medical Center
Los Angeles, CA

Colby Passaro, MD
Torrance Memorial Medical Center
Torrance, CA

Andrea Quinones-Rivera, MD, MPH
National Clinician Scholars Program, University of California-San Francisco
San Francisco, CA

Alexander Stern, MD
Providence St. Joseph
Burbank, CA
Providence Little Company of Mary
Torrance, CA

Chase Westra, MD
Mt. Sinai West/Morningside Medical Center
New York, NY

Marissa Wolfe, MD
Administrative Fellowship
Emergent Medical Associates
Los Angeles, CA
Masters of Medical Management
Carnegie Mellon

Hurnan Vongsachang, MD, MPH
National Clinician Scholars Program,
Masters of Science in Health Policy and Management
University of California-Los Angeles
Los Angeles, CA

Fellowship Graduates

Emergency Medical Services
Salvador Rios, MD

Administration and Research
Emily Johnson, MD

Emergency Medicine Ultrasound
Robert Allen, MD
Daniel Klein, MD

Emergency Medical Education
Scott Kobner, MD

Special Thank You

To the Department of Emergency Medicine for their generous sponsorship of this evening. Thank you to the residency office and faculty for your commitment to our education. We are forever changed by your investment. And finally, thank you to our families for your love, support and patience through the years.
We made it!